Slight Singleton Envy

3 Dec

I LOVE being a twin mom. Granted, I don’t know any different but I still love absolutely everything about it!


I love having two to kiss and two to hug. I love getting to dress up not just one but two adorable little people. I love seeing how differently they develop right along side each other. Love having two to talk to and hearing two sweet little voices chatter back at me. I love having two to love. Love watching them play together and sleep snuggled side by side.  


I must admit though that there are a few times when I do get slight singleton envy, one instance in particular. When I see a woman hop out of her car and dash into the shop quickly with her baby in her arms or just carry her on her hip or even more fun, in a kanga pouch or a sling… I totally get jealous. 



This… will never be my reality. There is no quick pop to shops for me anymore. Every time I go out with the girls (which is most of the time), it means… getting out my pram, unfolding it and parking it by Baby #1’s door. Hoist 7 kg (15 lb) Baby #1 out of the car and firmly lock her snug-n-safes/car seat into the pram. Then we proceed to Baby #2’s door, hoist her out, lock her in… and only then we are on our way! And it’s the same story when loadin’ up to head out. Isn’t doesn’t matter how short of an errand I have to run, they can’t exactly stay in the car so… out they come. 

And please don’t get me wrong, I love having their company and having to go through all this definitely does not stop me from going out, especially because it is all I know but… when I see those Mom’s with one little baby on their hip… I just wish. 

The closest I ever got to this was experience was this:
One Friday night, Husband was late coming home from work and I wanted to rent a DVD. So before the girls last feed I piled the 3 of us into my car and quick went to the DVD store. I was definitely not in the mood to lug out old faithful (the pram) or even the snug-n-safes/car seats. I just really wanted to be quick and as inconspicuous as possible and do a “baby on the hip” dash in so I brought along a front wearing kanga pouch. Keena went into the pouch and Blake I carried on my hip. Totally should have known that inconspicuous is not possible with twin babies. Some of the looks and comments I got were as follows:

From the guy who parked next to me: “You’re a really special lady.” (said with wide eyes)

From two middle aged woman: “Are those porcelain dolls?” (yes, I love carrying porcelain dolls with me in public…???)

and lastly…
A middle aged man simple slowly stepped out of my way with very wide eyes.  

Yah.  

And even if I have a singleton for my next pregnancy my cup already runneth over in terms of children so I guess I shall never know this simple pleasure. I’ll just have to live with my singleton envy in this one area. (dramatic sigh) I’m pretty sure I’ll survive:) 

Me, my old faithful pram and the girls will just plug along and set our own pace for “popping” to the shops. 


5 Responses to “Slight Singleton Envy”

  1. NickiStorm December 3, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    I take my hat off to moms of multiples … the inconspicuous dash into the store is what gets me through! Good on ya girl and keep up the fab blog! PS: I've subscribed πŸ™‚

  2. Cassie December 3, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    I totally understand that, I LOVE having twins but man I miss just doing things quickly. Yesterday it was so cold and I was not in the mood to get our stroller out so I just carried both girls (at over 20 lbs each) into the building. I felt like a new person, it was the shortest time it has ever taken me to get into a building πŸ™‚ and you are right the looks I get sometimes are hilarious!Cassie

  3. Jenny December 3, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    I am right there with ya! Love my triplets, but sometimes I really wish I could go to the grocery store, or post office, or dry cleaners without all the back aches and drama! πŸ™‚

  4. Mommafo December 16, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    I know it's not the same– but my youngest two are 15 months apart, and then I've got the two older ones. It's definitely never easy to go out. Ben only just started walking, (17 months old) so he has to be in the cart, Josie wants to sit where he is, so she screeeeeeeams and sometimes I have to carry 24 lb Ben so she will stop. I hate it! A lot of times I end up going to the store at 9 o'clock at night just so I don't have to deal with the kids.

  5. Sunshine September 11, 2011 at 3:39 am #

    I understand Mommafo's sentiment. 'Popping to the shops' with more than one baby of different ages can be just as tedious. The whole 'pop the infant on one hip and the 20kg willfully 2 yr old on the other' is not a walk in the park either. And then, Oh the wonders of completely alternating sleep and eat routines means no rest for mummy all day long. So bring on the double Phil n Teds πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

