Domestically Deprived

11 Dec

Help! Life’s so tough. Yes, it’s definitely as bad as you are imagining…

MY MAID WENT HOME FOR A MONTH FOR CHRISTMAS AND NOW I HAVE TO CLEAN MY HOUSE! Ugh, can you imagine. The nerve of this woman leaving me, with my two little babies, to do all the laundry and dishes and dusting and mopping and, and, and…! What am I going to do? Oh the misery! Oh the strife! How will I ever carry on?
Ok, obviously I’m being quite dramatic. But seriously, my maid’s been gone 1 day and I miss her like crazy already! 

I have to laugh at myself because when I first moved to South Africa I was shocked to learn that everybody here has a maid. 

This is Africa and South Africa has a 50% unemployment rate so, employing a maid= putting food on another families table. 

Many people have a maid that comes once or twice a week but most families have a maid full time, 5 days a week. She’ll do all the house cleaning as well as laundry, ironing and other bits and pieces. Originally, I found it so odd that this person you don’t know comes into you space and fiddles with your things and folds the clothes in your closet and cleans your ball of hair out of your shower drain. I felt like I wanted to constantly follow her around and apologize for the dirt and mess. Oh and working from home has never helped anything. Every time the maid would come, there I’d be sitting, like usual, on my computer. I felt terrible that I sat on my bum while this person cleaned around me! And I could tell by the look on her face that she had no idea what I was doing or why I was always on my computer. 

Well, almost 4 years in, I do still find aspects of having a maid a little awkward but in general I have adjusted. Actually, I am spoiled to death to have someone clean my house top to bottom twice a week. And just so you don’t think I’m a total bum I do tidy up the house everyday and run at least one load of dishes in the dish washer in between her visits but still… how spoilt am I? So spoilt that I haven’t done a load of laundry in 9 months until today! And I can’t even remember the last time I cleaned my own bathroom. But alas… I have been abandoned for the holiday season. *sigh* Time to put on my dusty rubber gloves and get to cleanin’… if I still remember how. 

I definitely love my maid. I feel deprived without her. It’s amazing how much energy you have for your kids when someone else is cleaning your house:) I do realize I probably sound utterly pathetic to all my friends in the states who raise their kids and clean their own homes but…

Now you know my secret. A maid…


4 Responses to “Domestically Deprived”

  1. la mì December 11, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    wonderful post!Hi! my name's martina and I come from Italy…I love your blog and I'd like you visit my blog…if you want, follow me! I wait you and your tips! kiss kiss ^^

  2. Mommafo December 16, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    I'm moving.

  3. Tia Today December 30, 2010 at 1:15 am #

    Hilarious, Ruth! You mean when I left South Africa after visiting you last fall, I had done more laundry than you? As you recall, I had to get outside some! Being out back in the laundry house and handing the clothes in the sun or wind was fun.

  4. Sunshine September 11, 2011 at 3:48 am #

    I'm drooling at the thought. No wonder S A mums can 'do it all'

Leave a Reply

