Wanted: An Extra Pair of Hands

16 Dec
Ok, I could definitely think of a whole list of tasks to give these extra pair of hands however, at the moment the main job I’d pass onto them is… sign language.  Yes, sign language.

See, I’ve always wanted to teach my babies sign language. I firmly believe that we, brilliant adults, often under estimate the intelligence of babies and children. Just because a baby can’t speak does not mean that they don’t know what’s going on or don’t have things to say. I feel that sign language is a great vehicle for my babies to communicate with me while they do not have the skills to speak just yet. It uses their natural abilities and tendencies to increase the clarity of their daily communications and in turn cuts down on my frustration of me guessing what they need and of them being misunderstood.  

I could actually carry on on this topic and explain tons of reasons why sign language is very beneficial for hearing babies but I shall not diverge. From what I can pick up, baby sign language is a much more common in the US than it is here. Anytime I’ve mentioned that I want to teach the girls sign language, people here just look at me like I’m a nuts and some people have actually said “wait… like on Meet the Falkers?”. Meet the Falkers… that’s the only frame of reference I have to offer here because no one I’ve talked to has ever heard of it! So now I’m more determined than ever to show that it works and how beneficial it is but… I’m struggling to find the hands to sign! 

Signing in context is the the quickest and clearest way for the girls to grasp it. At the moment, I’m sticking with 4 signs I’m trying to teach them: 
MILK


Common theme: all of these revolve around feeding time… which is when my hands are more than occupied! Holding two baby bottles and signing at the same time doesn’t really work. Hence… the extra pair of hands wanted. 

Look, it’s not a strenuous job or anything. I just need someone to come stand by my side the whole feeding time and sign those for words when I say them. Not rocket science.

So… any takers?


I want signing babies.

  

8 Responses to “Wanted: An Extra Pair of Hands”

  1. Mommafo December 16, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    My kids learned "more" and "all done" the best, I think it worked well once they were in the sitting stage and I was feeding them baby food, finger food, etc. 🙂 But I will take a pair of those extra hands too, please!

  2. Jenny December 16, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    I know lots of moms that have taught their babies sign language! The "eat" and "more" seem to work the best. I would love to do it as well, but I have the same problem… more hands are needed! 🙂

  3. waitingforluca December 17, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    First of all – I LOVE LOVE LOVE the new look of your blog! It's GORGEOUS! I particularly like the spear in Wez's hand 🙂 Secondly, what a great idea! Luca is able to communicate "more", "NO!" (a new favourite word *sigh*) and when he needs a poo really well now. It's AWESOME when you know what it is that they want! xxx

  4. waitingforluca December 17, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    PS : I added your blog to my blogroll! x

  5. Chris and April December 21, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    I taught Avery sign language and even took her to a 6 wk class, probably when she was 15 months or so… She has done GREAT with it! I highly recommend it to all parents. She was able to communicate her needs to me even though she couldn't say what she wanted. She still uses some signs, even though she can say the words.

  6. Tia Today December 30, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    Your sister has gotten her little one to sing "milk." I watched the two of them do this when they were here in November. Really cute to see. Baby A. seemed quite pleased that Mommy understood what she was saying.

  7. Tia Today December 30, 2010 at 1:35 am #

    I meant sign "milk." (Argh.)

  8. Nastasha November 19, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Hi there, got your blog from a friend of mine. Just found out we are expecting twin girls, and im so disappointed with the lack of info on the net. Your blog is really funny and so informative. Thanks so much:)

Leave a Reply

