What are the chances??

16 Feb

Wow, last week was one heck of a doozy in our household. The week started off with Blake cutting her first two teeth, which I must say was a non-even in comparison to what I had braced myself for in regards to teething but in general she was just kinda miserable. Nothing dramatic, just steady grumpiness. Definitely not the end of the world but after a few days of it, the grumpiness really started to grate me… which I felt bad about since she was in pain. Awesome.
At the same time, Keena suddenly came down with a hay fever/allergy kind of deal- big red puffy eyes that were watering like crazy, sneezing lots and a very congested nose which led to… me sleeping sitting up straight in bed 3 nights in a row with her strapped to my chest in a kanga pouch so she could sleep. Super fun.
Ps. During all this, Blake decided she didn’t like any solid food I gave her and Keena learned a fun new trick- during meal time she’d open her mouth like she wanted food and as I brought the spoon close she’d swat the spoon and food would go flying all over her and me and the feeding chair and the floor. Sleep deprived and thin patience-awesome.
On Friday night the girls had been asleep about two hours when we suddenly heard coughing & gagging over the baby monitor. I go in to check on them to find Blake vomiting all over her cot! In the process of cleaning her and her cot up, Keena also starts vomiting! After each of them vomiting 3x’s we decided to take them to the emergency room. Turns out it was just a 24 hour gastro bug kind of deal but still very scary for us and meant another late night.
THE VERY NEXT MORNING Blake starts showing the exact same symptoms that Keena had at the beginning of the week, so I think… that’s so strange cause the doctor who saw them LAST NIGHT said they both looked fine. Well, she got progressively worse on Saturday so I, again, slept sitting up with her strapped to me so she could breathe while she slept. And after getting even worse the next day I took her to the doctor to find she had a throat infection. Fantastic.
Three trips to the doctor in one week- seriously?? What are the chances.
I did have one shining moment that I must tell you about though. Due to all the stress of… well, all of this- I was very tired, impatient and panicky last week. Yah know, when you’re brain just doesn’t function properly from exhaustion and both babies are crying and need your full attention, you just don’t have the hands to give them and so you’re quickly trying to think of/sort out some type of solution to the situation? In one of these exact moments, I quickly mustered up what turned out to be, a great solution for us allJ
Keena was congested and could only sleep upright. She was really tired and screaming to go to sleep. Blake was wide awake and wanted to play but wanted me to play with her and would cry every time I walked away (which she never does) to help Keena. So here was my solution…
Keena strapped to my chest and sleeping…
… while I sat next to Blake on the floor and played.

And here they are all passed out… in the exact same spot.

KO’d

One Response to “What are the chances??”

  1. ZERD February 19, 2011 at 4:58 am #

    Oh, darlin'! What a week! My poor sister. Terrible week, but great story 🙂 I so wish I could be there to help. The last couple of weeks have been (less dramatic) weeks of sickness here, too. When you want some happy blather, I'll pop you a note and tell you all about Alice talking ("ho-wee cwap!")and silliness.Consider yourself MONDO HUGGED!!!!

Leave a Reply

