Not a Photo Mom

5 Jun

If you’re going to follow my blog I feel like there is something you’re going to have to learn and just accept about me….

I am not a photo mom.

There. I said it!

You know exactly what I’m talking about.

Now a days it seems like, along with all the other million responsibilites mothers have, being an amatuer photographer has also been added to the list. With most of the mom-blogs I follow the moms take beautiful, artist pictures of their kids regularly. They’re great photos and you can see that the moms love photographing their children. But that is just not me.

Maybe I should take this moment to tell you that before I had my girls I was… dun dun dun dun – a professional photographer! Bet you weren’t expecting me to say that now, were yah? I even went to photography school and everything. In fact, I went to photography school thinking that I wanted to do photojournalism and quickly found out that I am a horrible photojournalist! Ninety percent of my classmates revelled in carrying around their camera’s EVERYWHERE THEY WENT so that they didn’t miss a single moment of capturable life. I tried this and totally sucked at it. I found that even if I duct taped my camera to my arm, I would still miss the moment. The few times that I caught a kodak moment were very disappointing experiences. I realized that I would much rather be a part of the moment than take a picture of it at all. If I took a picture then I had no emotional connection to it cause I didn’t really experience it… or so I feel.

So that’s that. Just wanted to give you a heads up not to expect any wizz bang photography in this blog- sorry.

However, I would like to make a mommy resolution to take a least 1 picture of the girls per day with Old Faithful (aka my cell phone camera). I might not get the perfect angle or light, incredible depth of field & vibrant colors but at the end of the day something is much better than nothing in my books… plus, I have tons of really cool filters on my Iphone that are fun to use:)

 So I shall aim for 1 photo per day and kick it off with this:

The girls riding in the trolley at the super market. (Keena kind of looks like she’s doped up but it was 5 o’clock when I took this, so be nice.)
Cell phone camera pictures…
2 Responses to “Not a Photo Mom”

  1. Mommafo July 18, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    Hehe!! I am the same way. 90% of my pictures are from my phone. 🙂

  2. Sunshine September 11, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Totally the same Ruth! In both respects- to be IN the moment rather than on the outside, and to bond with Hipstamatic for iPhone 🙂

Leave a Reply

