Chivalry is alive in SA

10 Mar
Hands down, one of my favorite things about South Africa is how dag-on well manner the men are here! South African schools are filled with discipline and tradition (even the public schools) and part of what children learn at schools here is manners. Shocker, I know right. 
(South African school boys in uniform.)

Students have to address their teachers as ‘mam’ and ‘sir’. They are taught to stand when their teacher enters the room and say please and thank you consistently when appropriately, along with all the other important manners. And man oh man can you see the effect of this in South African society! Never once in the 5 years that I’ve lived here have a man shouted something sexual at me out of a passing car window. 

Never once has a man undressed me with his eyes (at least not so obviously that I noticed) or said something rude to me as I walked past him on the street. 


 I’ll tell yah what does happen though. At least once a day, when I am in public (so we’re talking about total strangers here)- a man will make a quick dash to get me a shopping cart when he sees that I am off loading two small children from my car that happens to be parked far out in the lot OR a man will open the door for me seeing that my hands are full with two kids OR return my shopping cart to where it belongs because (again) my hands are full of kids and groceries OR carry my dogs big 15kg (30lb) bag of dog food out to my car just to be polite.


 My examples could go on. And let me just add, there is nothing really said when they help me except something “Here, let me get that for you” or “Can I help you with that?”. In other words, there are no funny winks or (super obvious) ass check-outs going on. They’re simply polite men.

 Thank you South Africa for continuing to teach manners to our children. Thank you South African men for sticking to your foundations. This chivalry thing is definitely one of the reasons I fell in love with Husband. I reckon there’s almost nothing better than a well mannered but not cheesy man. Keep pumpin’ um out SA!


4 Responses to “Chivalry is alive in SA”

  1. Adriel (The Mommyhood Memos) March 16, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    though i think the standing when teacher enters the room thing is a little much, i LOVE the rest of it. yeah! men with manners! i hope we are able to raise our boys to be looking out for the needs of others before their own and to always always honor women. i'm so glad they have a great example in my husband. (also one of the big things that attracted me to him too!) your girls are so blessed to grow up in an environment where they will EXPECT that as the norm… as it SHOULD be!

  2. Ruth March 18, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    I love that you take raising son aka. good men so seriously. It's reassuring to know that at least there will be a few good men for my girls to choose from! And we are lucky that they're growing up in the culture they are.

  3. Hayley March 18, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    Love this post Ruth! Wow…makes me proud πŸ™‚

    • Nelisa March 24, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

      hahaha, you are on point Ruth, i remember my school days. we really use to do all of that and yes even in public schools. it has taught me to respect authority figures. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

