Cultural Vlog #1- SA Housing

9 May

You are about to see my very first vlog. (#loudcheering&clapping#)

I promised this weeks ago but better late than never right? This is also the first in a string of cultural vlogs that I will be doing. These are aimed at my non-South African readers so please endure with me SA readers as we share some of our lovely country and lifestyle with others.

#How Do You Roll?#

Does anything in the video stand out to you or surprise you?

What is the typical housing situation like in  your part of the world?

How does this video vary from the image you had in your head of South African housing?

7 Responses to “Cultural Vlog #1- SA Housing”

  1. Gillian Lithgow May 9, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Hi Ruth,
    I have tried to view the video but it is marked as private 😦

    • ruthjopson May 9, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      I fixed the settings Gillian. Try now:)

  2. Gillian Lithgow May 9, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Thanks 🙂

  3. mommafo May 9, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    This is great! I love how much vegetation there is around your homes- it looks so nice. 🙂 You’re looking great too, and it’s so neat to hear your voice after all these years. Do you find that you talk differently on a vlog? Your dialect has changed so much since you were little, which is expected I’m sure. I’m wondering how much of it is cultural.:) I really enjoyed this video, and I look forward to more!!

    • ruthjopson May 9, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      So glad you enjoyed the vlog Crystal! My accent has DEFINITELY changed and it’s totally from living overseas. When I lived in Australia I sounds a titch Aussie. Now I’m sounding more and more South African! Ugh, it’s conform or die, yah know? My first few months in SA were so frustrating cause many times I would be speaking english to an english speaker and still having to spell words out, describe things in detail or draw pictures just to communicate! It’s just easier to say it like they say it:)

  4. April May 9, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    First, I LOVE this…a vlog is a great idea and I can’t wait to see more. I find it very interesting how different your housing is than in the States. It’s weird seeing that giant gate before your front door. But, I bet it makes you feel safer! Not that crime doesn’t happen here, but I’m sure I have a false sense of security…we have a fenced in yard but there aren’t locks on our gates. And we just have a standard front door and regular windows. So interesting!!
    Second, maybe I’m weird but I don’t think you sound different. I’m sure if I were there and surrounded by the dialect and accents, I’d notice. But you sound “normal” to me! 🙂 I bet I sound super weird to you…
    I would love to see more of everything…the inside of your house for one. Is it set up differently that we do? What is it like going to the grocery? What does that trip look like… What about favorite family foods and recipes that are South African? Do you guys have parks that you take the girls and what do they look like?

    SO MANY QUESTIONS! haha. I’m just so curious!

    • ruthjopson May 9, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

      Oh April, I love you for saying I don’t sound any different! Some people I say I sound very South African and some people (here) say they can totally tell I’m American. I just want to make sure my girls know their Mom is American! haha:)

      Secondly, I intend on doing another vlog about South African food- typical homemade dishes, cafe food, flavorings & more- as well as, a vlog about my maid, transportation, racial mixes and language & differences in our english. So keep those questions comin’ and watch this space closely!

Leave a Reply

